NaNoWriMo – why it’s good and bad

I have had to have a few days break from doing NaNoWriMo due to health reasons, and this gave me time to think that it can be both good and bad for writers.

The good is that doing it can get you into a daily writing habit. If you aren’t writing regularly, then doing NaNoWriMo can help. It has certainly made me productive on the short story writing front. I have found it liberating just to write story after story and not write one, edit it, send it off then start again. It has also got me working hard on my Pocket Novel.

But here can be the bad side of it all – if you aren’t used to writing so often, it can give you RSI, and it might give you writing exhaustion. Although my recent ‘shutdown’ wasn’t anything to do with writing so often, it made me think that I might have been doing too much in one go. So, I am going to slow my writing down for the rest of the month and not focus on the word count but what I want to do.

I hope your writing is going well, whatever you are working on. Make it fun not hard work.

If you want to receive these tips, tricks and news before I blog them here, why not sign up to my newsletter at  http://eepurl.com/bwuQav

One thought on “NaNoWriMo – why it’s good and bad

  1. Hi Julie, It was lovely meeting you yesterday at the Christmas Chapter party. Thank you for the information you gave me it is very helpful, I would love to keep in touch. Have just read that your not feeling too wonderful and hope you pick up again soon. I shall log onto your news letter. Very Best wishes, Hilary Forde-Chalkly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

