Writing basics – tenses

Hello, again

This week I am talking about tenses. There are usually only two tenses that writers use: present and past. For the examples I am going to give, I am going to quote a Beatle’s song.

  1. Present tense – You say hello, I say goodbye.
  2. Past tense – You said hello, I said goodbye.

Most authors, inc me, use past tense when writing their mss/stories, but some authors (I’ve seen this recently in short stories in women’s magazines) use present tense. I have read these, and it gives the story a much more immediate effect, putting you in the character’s life there and then. I might try this sometime with one of my stories.

If you want to get exercises to go with these blog posts, then why not sign up to my newsletter at http://eepurl.com/bwuQav

Leave a Reply

