What is a plot?

I am continuing my ideas on what plot isn’t.

Plot is not a list of events. Eg I went to the shops, bought a loaf of bread and went home. Plot is where something happens. Think of cause and effect. There is a cause that has an effect. So, here is my plot for a short story. I went to the shop, but it was closed. I went to another shop and that too was closed. I managed to buy a loaf of bread in a third shop, but as I came out, a bird flew down and took my loaf of bread. I gave chase across the street.

If you would like writing exercises to go with these posts, why not sign up to my newsletter at http://eepurl.com/bwuQav/ You will also get previews of the writing exercises I have been including in my writing exercise ebook I plan to hopefully publish later this year.

Leave a Reply

