How my client is teaching me

As you may know by now, I am a writing and publishing coach for new children’s authors. I have been helping my author client with editing and publishing his first children’s picture book, and along the way I have learnt a couple of things. Here is what I have learnt:

1. Patience. I have had to be patient when publishing the book on Createspace, because I have been coming across blocks that have stopped me going forward with it all eg not having various details my client has. Bit by bit, week by week, I have managed to publish the book, and last Saturday my patience was worth it, as it went through. The proof copy still has to be ordered though. It has been hard for me because I don’t know if is because of my Asperger’s or just who I am, but I do like to get things done and get frustrated when they don’t happen straight away.

The other thing I have had to be patient with is my client. During our phone chats, I have had to explain and go through the process of publishing and inputting his details on Createspace with him. This takes time and patience. So I am learning to have lots of patience with people.

2. I am also learning about the weather and how various aspects of it is made eg how rainbows are made (his first book) and how the wind is made (his second book to come). I have had to research these things and have found them interesting. I look forward to researching how other weather is made for the rest of his series.

So, if you are thinking about becoming a mentor or coach to someone, it can be worth your while because you never know what you might end up learning with them.

Leave a Reply

