Publishing changes for indie authors

There have been a few major changes in indie publishing the last month, esp before Xmas, and I want to inform you of the ones I know about. So, here we go:

1. If you use Draft2Digital website to create paperbacks of your ebooks to Createspace, then you will be majorly affected. As from March this year, D2D are stopping their partnership with CS. This affects me because I have put a few of my children’s ebooks into print via this route. So, later this year I will have to take them off D2D and put them into print somehow else. The reason D2D have decided this is because of the second change

2. Amazon KDP have only helped authors to publish ebooks so far, until before Xmas. They now have in beta testing mode a new Paperback service, v similar to Createspace. The format is the same eg the way you choose the trim size of the book, the colour of the interior on paper. I know because I have been trying to publish my latest children’s book on there. But beware – the size of the cover is slightly different to the one on Createspace as they have different paper stock. This proved such a sticky point for me and my designer, we couldn’t get the right size in the end. So, since this post was first written, I have now published my book ‘Billy and the Sparkling Socks’ on Createspace, which proved a whole lot easier to do.

I have also read that with KDP Paperback services, you can’t order your own copies for events and you can’t order a proof copy for yourself, both things you can do on Createspace. This also made me stick with Createspace. And I will do so for the rest of the series and until it no longer exists.

3. If you are a romance indie author and have been using a website called All Romance ebooks to distribute your ebooks, then you will have got an email from them before Xmas stating they are closing doors. This website closed giving romance authors only time to deactivate their books on the site, and no time to publish them on the other platforms; it being Xmas, most platforms had closed for the holiday. This change didn’t affect me as I only had a couple of my adult ebooks on there and didn’t make any money out of it. If it does affect you, then a brill blog to read is Kristine Kathryn Rusch on her kriswrites blog. Find the post for the beginning of January, there is a link in there that you can go to and read all about what has happened and what you can do if you are affected.

So, those are the changes in the publishing industry I know about. Any more I find out about I will let you know when I do.

Happy writing.

Leave a Reply

