Discoverability – Being a member of an organisation

There are lots of advantages to being a member of a writing organisation, but today I am going to talk about ways you can get discovered through it.

I have recently posted about how I can get discovered through being a member of ALLi, now I am talking about things I have done in the past to get discovered with other organisations.

Years ago when I was a member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association I used to go to their conferences and meetings. At their conferences, members were asked if they would write up about the talk they went to. I did a few of these, which went on their website and in their magazine.

I am a member of the Society of Children’s British Writers and Illustrators (SCBWI) who all write for children. If you blog about writing for children, your blog can be picked up by their own blog called Words and Pictures. Mine has a few times over the last couple of years. Also, like the RNA, if you go to their classes, someone is asked to write up about the class for the blog. I can’t remember if I have done this yet but I might do later this year as I will be attending a few of their workshops.

So, if you can afford it and have the time to go to meetings and classes, joining a like-minded group is a good way of being discovered, esp if you offer to blog about it.

Leave a Reply

