Writing exercise – an autistic child

As this month is Autism Awareness Month, I am going to give you an exercise based on my book ‘Billy and the Sparkling Socks’. Billy is a 10-year-old boy who has Asperger’s Syndrome, a form of autism. He wants to be a presenter but because of his autism he finds it hard to communicate to people. Until he discovers a magical world at school that shows him how he can be confident with an alternative persona, which he copies.

This is the exercise. I want you to create a character, adult or child, who has autism and also has a skill or talent. Write a page where he starts to become confident at school, home or elsewhere, using this skill/talent they have.

Here is an example from Billy

Billy stopped. Should he carry on? Then he felt his socks … move on him? And he saw his pen glow silver, just like his exercise book had when he began writing. He knew that he had to carry on. So he did, saying the long words louder than the others. “I was watching television when I saw my neighbour walk past outside. He seemed to be chewing bubblegum. He was so busy chewing that he didn’t see our other neighbour driving his car out of his space as he went to cross the pavement. But I had.” As he read, he got into his story, waving his hands about for emphasis to his words.

I went to the front door to warn him, but I didn’t see the cushion on the floor, and I tripped up ….” he pretended to trip, stretching his arms out as though falling … “and the sweet I’d been eating flew out of my mouth.” Billy stopped. “That’s as far as I got, Miss.”

You can find out how Billy gets on in the book, available at https://www.amazon.co.uk/Billy-Sparkling-Socks-Rainbow-School/dp/154264853X/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1491395003&sr=1-1&keywords=billy+and+the+sparkling+socks

Happy writing. Let me know what you write as I might create a story from your character.

Leave a Reply

