Writing exercise – Friends and confidence

Sorry I’ve not been with you the last few weeks. Such a lot has been going on here at home and I have been away for a weekend retreat where I wrote over 3000 words on my current WIP. I aimed for 2000 so I achieved my goal. Anyway, as some of you might know, I write for 7-9 year-olds at the moment, so this week’s letter is a writing exercise for that age range. My current books are about children with Asperger’s who find confidence to make friends. In each book in the series, the new friend acts as a mentor to the new main character. Eg Book 2 is about Charlie, so Billy from Book 1 Billy and the Sparkling Socks acts as his mentor.

Here is your exercise: I want you to think of a character who isn’t confident for some reason. Create a friend for them who can act as a mentor who helps them. Write a page where the friend helps the less confident child, describing what happens, showing readers what happens and how. No telling, please.

Good luck. Let me know how you get on.

Leave a Reply

